Am I a Clown or do I clown?

Seems it always comes back to this.

I asked the kids I see the following question “what is a Clown?” Almost everyone of them said “someone who is funny” Two of them said “someone who wears a red nose” The dictionary defines Clown this way.

noun
         1.
  1. a comic entertainer, especially one in a circus, wearing a traditional costume and exaggerated makeup.
    2.
    an unsophisticated country person; a rustic.
verb
        1.
  1. behave in a comical way; act playfully.
    “Harvey clowned around pretending to be a dog”

So I ask you, do you need a red nose to be funny? Do you need a red nose to be a Clown?

I love wearing a red nose, I just do! I love entertaining as a Clown. There was about 50 children I asked this to. Not one said anything about big feet or makeup. And not one mentioned a wig at all.

I find myself wearing a beard for at least half the year and have yet to find a look with makeup that I feel comfortable with. But I am okay with just the red nose. I still am funny and entertaining. There are times I feel I am being lazy. But really, makeup with a beard does not work for me!

Those that have been following this blog (although a while since the last post) know I am always revisiting if I am doing what I am meant to be doing and am I doing it the right way. I feel I owe it to the entertainers that paved the way  for me and those that will follow after me. I also have been searching for just the right type of entertainer I am to be. I have come to the conclusion that as a entertainer I am always evolving.

I am good at what I do, but I am striving to be better.

But am I a Clown? Do I clown?

The answer to these questions are yes!

But I no longer go by Halaloo the Clown! I am Halaloo!

I entertain with and without balloons, however I feel more comfortable with the balloons. But I am trying to do more clowning without props that I bring with me. I am clowning with what I find at the venue I am asked to perform at.

I plan on clowning for a while yet. But will the Clown I look like today, look the same in 5 years if I am still doing this? I don’t think so. I  am always evolving and I hope you are too!

Leave a comment