Books to read…videos to watch

What a week! God is good and I am BLESSED!

2 weeks ago I did my first real event as Halaloo, in my new green suit and bowler hat, not in makeup. It was a blast!

There were a few kids there that know me in makeup that were there. We were chatting and having fun when two kids were talking to each other, not thinking I could hear them. The conversation went something like this. “that is Halaloo the Clown” the first girl said to the second. The second then said “I know! I like him like this he is so much funnier.” The first replied “I know! He is funny in makeup but he is REALLY funny like this”

No, they have to be wrong, I did nothing different then what I do normally.

It use to be that I felt so at ease when the makeup went on. I can be a very shy person. For my putting on the makeup was and is like putting on a mask. I become someone else. But what is more I had something to hide behind. People don’t see the real me, I can relax and do the show.

Over the years I have improved as a Clown but there was a point where I started to feel more nervous in Clown then I ever remember being. The times I went out without the makeup I felt less nervous than I use to be out of makeup. I could always get up and talk in front of a group, at ease. But not to perform.

Now flash forward to this past weekend, I was out of makeup but so at ease. I felt empowered out of makeup. In the green suit I just came alive. Was I still Halaloo? I don’t think so…stay tuned, a new character may be in the works! And yet there may be another Halaloo based on some things I bought on a shopping trip!

My friend Ken Black from North Bay Ontario suggested Otto Pilot. I like it and it my stick! We will see where this character goes. So there may be Halaloo (in Clown), a unnamed character in the green suit and still one more…. Otto Pilot!

But where does  Books and Videos fit into all this?

Videos because I have a number of DVDs to watch, movies and How-to balloon DVDs. And books because there are two that have been speaking loudly to me. Both came from my friend Jed Crouse. the first was a book he mentioned when I was looking for suggestions as to what to read. It is life changing! But I still have much to learn. it is called “Not a Fan” by Kyle Idleman. All Christians should read this. It WILL challenge you. The other is “Lessons I Learned @ the Circus” by Jed Crouse. All those involved in Clown Ministry can benefit from this book. More importantly all Christian can be encouraged by reading this. It is a series of articles really. But I like how Jed sees things that are happening to him in his day to day life and sees God’s lessons for him. In one chapter Jed asks

Willing to be shot out of cannon? “Are you willing to trust God with all you’ve got? Are you willing to go ALL IN for the Lord, trusting that His trajectory is correct? If not what’s holding you back? 3…2…1…blast off!

Being challenged! That is what I desire. It is way way I have been able to better my Clown Character. But it also is what betters me!

So get out there and be challenged, step out from the normal if that is what it takes. Put the makeup on, take it off….??

Be the best you you can be!

Leave a comment